Who is Murphy and Why Does He Get A Law?


Have you ever had one of those days where anything and everything doesn’t go according to your plan?  Well, guess what?  Today was one of those days.  In the grand scheme of things, it’s just really life happening and I just have to “let it be” and move on.  (Notice I didn’t say ‘get over it?’ If you have no idea what I’m talking about…read the “Maybe the Beatles were on to something” blog entry).  ANYHOO…I digress……

So, here’s what has happened to me so far today and the day is far from over.  I woke up to Dr. Hutchinson saying something about anxiety — I forgot to take out the review CD from the player.  Nice to hear his voice again. NOT.  Got out of bed and got ready to go teach a first aid/cpr class.  A few days ago, I decided it was time to try straightening my hair.  Looks nice, actually.  Except when you burn a section of it.  Yea, so that was me today — tucking that portion behind my ear.

Traffic was insane.  The students were late.  The new video is pretty boring and everyone was sighing.  Learned that I may not be able to teach the remaining classes that I have scheduled. (through no fault of my own) Came home in the dense fog to walk my furry friends.

It started to rain so I decided we’d go for a car ride to the bank.  Mind you, the bank is only two minutes from the house.  My little furry friend whined the whole trip.  Came home, they jumped out, went to the bathroom then hopped back in the truck.  So, off we went. Again.  Then the whining started and I was done.

We came home and walked around the development because it was raining.  Some sirens went off, and my big furry friend stopped in his tracks.  Wouldn’t move.  He is afraid of sirens.  I kept walking.  He caught up.  Went to go back in the house and it was locked!!!!  I don’t have a key to that house.  Yet.  Knocked on another neighbor’s door for some help and he slid the screen up, slid the window up, leaned in and opened the door.  My furry
friends were safely back in their dry, warm home.

This story doesn’t end here………just think rain, dropping off recycling (which I just started doing) in two different places for the first time, frizzy hair (word to the wise — straightened curly hair and rain don’t mix well), and a reluctant trip to the gym for a quick workout before going to my friend’s office to help her pack it up.

She was running late so I hopped on to check the status of my application for my last 4.5 credits needed for my licensing.  My transcript still has not been received, classes start next week, and financial aid may not cover a certificate program.

Are you laughing yet?  I am.  All of these little inconveniences are a real pain when put together in one day.  But, in the grand scheme of things, so very unimportant.  Each of these little things will force me to begin to do something differently.  That is good.  Change is good.  Life is good.  Even when this Murphy guy and his stupid law come to visit.  Isn’t life all about adaptation?  How well are you going to adapt to Murphy’s Law when it rears its inconvenient head?  I hope well.

Until Next Time,
J

About Sacred Insights

Owner, Sacred Spaces Counseling Center. In order for true healing to begin, the needs of the mind, body and spirit must be met. Sacred Spaces Counseling Center was founded on the premise that the client should be treated as a whole being, not as a by-product of their brokenness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who is Murphy and Why Does He Get A Law?

  1. Pat Caber says:

    And I thought my day was bad!! Keep laughing Jill…..it gets you through anything, just like God!

Leave a Reply

